Home > Uncategorized > Looking for help with my browser-based game

Looking for help with my browser-based game

For the last 18 months (or so), I’ve been working on my browser-based RPG “Kingdoms” (in Perl of course). In a decision that I may live to regret, I’ve gone for something large and ambitious, rather than small and easily achievable. There’s a lot more info (including screenshots) on the site, but it’s become obvious I really need some help in developing it. So I figured I’d give an overview of the technical aspects, and see if anyone in Perl-land is interested in helping out.

Firstly, I should point out that this is purely a hobby project. It’s unlikely it’ll ever make any significant amount of money; my main objective is just to cover server costs. I’m doing this because I’ve always been interested in games, and tend to be a fairly creative person. If I’m into something, I like to try to make it myself. It’s also time I can spend doing something productive rather than watching TV, etc.

I went with Perl, because I didn’t really want to spend time on the learning curve of a language I was unfamiliar with (since I figured building the game itself would take up enough time). But as I’ve progressed, I’ve tried to keep up with the latest developments, including Perl 5.10, newer versions of Catalyst and Moose Roles. The app also uses DBIx::Class, is backed by MySQL and runs on Apache/mod_perl. I’ve also spent a fair bit of time getting a reasonable test suite together, and making it fairly robust (it’s been a big help in improving my approach to Test Driven Development).

So why would you want to help out? If you’re into games, it’s a project you’ll probably find fun. I’m sure we’ve all played games and thought “It’s cool, but I wish they’d made x a bit cooler.” Making your own game lets you realise these ideas. Also, it’s a good opportunity to learn more about Perl, or various other aspects of development such as databases, websites, etc. There’s scope for releasing stuff to CPAN (there are a few candidate modules I haven’t got around to releasing), and eventually I may release the whole thing as open source. Anyone who helps out will get full credit, of course.

I already have someone helping out with artwork, and a few people testing the game. I’m really looking for someone (or several people) who’s got a reasonable amount of experience as a developer, knows Perl or doesn’t mind learning, and has at least a couple of hours a week to spare, most weeks. I’m hoping to find people who can contribute not just code, but ideas, and enthusiasm.

If you’re interested, or have questions for me, drop me a line – mutant [dot] nz [at] gmail [dot] com.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 22, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Is it open source? Do yo have VCS with anonymous access?

    • Mutant
      May 22, 2009 at 9:06 pm

      No, it’s not open source. While I’m a big fan of OSS, in this case I’m worried that if I open source it, some Big Web Game co. will serve it off their site, with all their resources behind it and take all the credit.

      If and when it becomes popular on my server, I’ll definitely consider open sourcing it.

      I can provide VCS access if you’re interested, of course.

  2. james
    May 22, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Any special reason you chose MySQL?

    • Mutant
      May 22, 2009 at 9:27 pm

      Because it was the only thing available on my initial server setup. I don’t have any particular attachment to it. I may change at some point, but it hasn’t annoyed me enough to force me to change (yet).

  3. August 26, 2009 at 8:45 am

    The browser games and other small games supports a cottage industry of small companies.You can play these games without pay on the internet.Rather than watching TV, etc. we can spend time by doing something productive.thats good idea and u did really a great job.keep updating.

  4. Sam D
    November 12, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    Oh Sam, if you had decided to do this in ANYTHING other than Perl, I would volunteer.

    • Mutant
      November 12, 2009 at 9:32 pm

      So you would rather have PHP or Brainfuck?

      What are your problems with Perl? I suspect you’ve drunk from the cup of FUD.

  5. Thigr
    April 26, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    Do you still need some help developping in Perl ?

    • Mutant
      April 26, 2011 at 9:02 pm

      Sure… drop me an email to the address above.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

